top of page
  • Kaitie

You are not Chris, Will, or Jada

This is the last time I'm going to publicly comment or post on the 2022 Oscar situation regarding Chris Rock, Will Smith, and Jada Pinkett Smith.


But before I exit this social media frenzy, I wanted to leave my perspective -the bottom line.


I have heard a multitude of theories about how and why the whole situation went down and every day there is a new angle.


It was staged.


"You can tell by the delay."


"Just watch Chris Rock's reaction."


"There's weird [camera] cuts."


"The Oscars needed more people to tune in."


"The Oscars got what they wanted! Everyone is talking about the Oscars again."


"This was a setup to pit Black people against each other."






Chris Rock is the victim.


"He was just doing his job!"


"It was funny."


"He didn't know Jada had alopecia and neither did you!"


"People have said worse on bigger stages."


"Um, have you watched Ricky Gervais at the Golden Globes? This was nothing."


"Violence is never the answer."


"Will Smith shouldn't have been given that Oscar after what he did."


"Will Smith shouldn't have been partying afterwards."





"Will Smith and his family were abused."


"Will shouldn't have had to endure that abuse."


"Chris Rock was out of line and should have been removed."


"Comedians needs to stop with these outrageous insults. They're not funny."


"Why do people pick on the Smith family all the time?!"


"Will Smith did the right thing."


"Will was just standing up for his wife."



2022 94th Oscars Promo
The 94th Oscars Promo from ABC
I believe that covers the majority and overall range of the views being posted about the Oscar Slap. I'm amazed that there can be a new angle daily and we're still talking about it a week later as if it's currently the biggest societal issue out there. As, I stated at the beginning of this blog: I'm giving my final thought: The bottom line is that all you're doing is giving your opinion and you're inserting yourself into a situation that has nothing to do with you.

Everyone I know has chosen a position: Will, Chris, or Conspiracy; and everyone I know has made a statement from above with a similar meaning. What people are not realizing and are not talking about is the fact that the view they have on the situation is based on their own experience.


Anyone who has shared their opinion with me thus far (and that includes random members of society posting their opinion on social media) has said something like- "This is what I would have done, because [insert personal story or view]." and that is okay. We're Human and that's our nature- to use our own experiences and knowledge to back-up our views and decisions. Our quickest reference book is, indeed, what we store in our minds. For the most part, I find that to be fine, but we have to remember that our personal knowledge database may be limited or there may be more information about any given subject that we haven't yet learned/experienced. So, people really need to confront themselves and the amount of time they're giving to the Oscar Slap.


Hopefully, no one ever has to be in that situation. I wouldn't want to feel bullied into the point of reacting in a violent manner and I hope to never lose myself in a joke to where I'm hurting someone physically. - I'm personally advising people to spend their energy and their mindsets on personal goals and major issues. If you do feel the need to think about these 3 celebrities, then hopefully it's only to wish that all 3 can heal in a way that brings them to an understanding amongst themselves.



There isn't one person I know of personally or that I have spoken to about the Oscar Slap that knows either of these 3 in real life. So, we are all just speculating.


We don't know the status of Will and Jada's marriage behind closed doors.


We don't know the personal history between Jada and Chris.


We don't know if Will was pressured into slapping Chris.


We don't know if Will is depressed or going through something mentally.


We don't know if Chris sought them out on purpose.


So, have your opinion -that's fine, but please, go use your time wisely though and don't waste energy on people you don't even know.



And just in case you didn't know that there are real social issues we should be not only talking about, but acting upon-


Ketanji Brown Jackson has endured a difficult confirmation hearing on her way to becoming the first ever African American female judge on the Supreme Court.


Gay children are being silenced and unprotected with a bill in Florida.


Ukraine is being bombed and their citizens killed and threatened daily by Russian forces.





10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Facebook After A Break

I know it's been a while since I made a blog entry on here. I always say to myself- "You should blog about that." or "Today I'm going to...

bottom of page