top of page
  • Writer's pictureKaitie Clink

Postcrossing Stats | September 2022

Postcrossing Stats for September 2022


Today, I'm sharing my Postcrossing stats for the month of September in 2022. I just recently started Postcrossing again after an 11 month break. My original profile on Postcrossing was closed due to inactivity and failure to register some postcards that had come in last October of 2021. I didn't mean for that to happen, I just had a really rough year and around October I just realized I needed a break from many things. It was really easy to block out simple things in my life that were not necessary, and unfortunately, Postcrossing happened to be one of those things. I did attempt to get my old profile reactive, but I had no luck and decided to give Postcrossing a go again by just making a new profile. Yes, it is a little bit of a damper to have my old achievements, memories, and connections erased, but I am in a much better head-space now and I do still enjoy this program, so I'm okay, overall, with starting over.



I actually officially started back into this activity in August. August 23, 2022 to be exact. However, nothing arrived that I sent in that month, so all of my stats are from last month in September of 2022 and that's okay!


I was in the top 50,000 for both sent and received postcards. I don't consider that any sort of achievement, but I am happy none-the-less to be ranked because that means I'm back in the program!


As per usual, I sent twice as many as I received, but I've always been ahead in sent vs received, which I think is usually how it works. You have to "send" a postcard and have it registered before your address is put in the system to receive a postcard.


7 Sent | 3 Received


Postcards Sent

This chart really doesn't mean much, but it is cool to see where the postcards I sent went to. 7 total postcards sent and all 7 to different countries! Of course, at the moment, I have the option "off" for postcards going to the same countries at the same time. If not for Postcrossing or the occasional postcard swap, I would never get to send mail to Asia. All of my pen pals from there have either ghosted me or decided to give up the hobby.



Postcards Received

I only received 3 postcards from 2 different countries- USA & Germany. So far, I am happy with the majority of the postcards I have received which is way different then the first time I started Postcrossing. Honestly, it took several months to get any postcard that I remotely favored back then. This time, it seems to be the opposite and I hope it continues in that direction. I personally put a lot of thought into what I think the receiver would like and I appreciate it when others do the same.


Favorites

One postcard happened to be favored. While the postcards I have been receiving are great this time, it seems the ones I am sending are not as popular as the ones on my original account. Not to brag, but I had like a 90% "favorite" rate when I first started Postcrossing. While I have only sent 7, it seems only 1 is liked. That's a 14% favorite rate. Totally the opposite of what happened last time. I'm not sure if it's just that I'm not hitting the mark with people like I use to or if the "favorite" feature has changed. I know when I was originally Postcrossing a lot of people were favoriting postcards that they hoped to receive. Of all of the profiles I have received to send to I have noticed that all of their favorites are postcards they have received that they like; that's how I have always used this feature, but it wasn't a popular thing to do last year. It is cool to see that a random person liked it! It's just a little disheartening to think I'm not as good as I used to be with understanding what people want.........


I'm going to keep Postcrossing! Feel free to leave your profile in the comments so I can check it out! I will continue to share my Postcrossing stats every month with you!


My Postcrossing profile can be found here.

 

Here are some September facts that Postcrossing sent with my stats, just in case you missed them.

  • Luxembourg released a Postcrossing stamp! See it here.

  • Estonia also released a Postcrossing stamp in time for World Postcrossing day!

bottom of page